Who we are

CHI 2019 SIG Organisers

Oussama Metatla is an EPSRC Research Fellow in the Department of Computer Science at the University of Bristol. His research interests include investigating multisensory technology and designing with and for people with visual impairments. He currently leads a project focusing on inclusive educational technology for mixed-ability groups in mainstream schools.

Émeline Brulé is a Lecturer at University of Sussex. Her research focuses on the inclusive design: both in developing new technologies or design frameworks and developing adequate ways of teaching it in higher education.

Katta Spiel  is a postdoctoral researcher who looks at the margins of technology design. Currently, they are researching the attitudes, desires and interests of neurodivergent youth concerning play with digital games. This research is part of a postdoctoral project between KU Leuven and Universität Wien, in collaboration with Kathrin Gerling and Fares Kayali.  Before that, they were investigating the experiences of autistic children in technological contexts, moving away from empathy and developed a concept for Participatory Evaluation.

Ahmed Kharrufa is a lecturer in Interaction Design at Open Lab, Newcastle University. He iis leading the educational technology research at Open Lab and his research in this area focuses on the design, development, implementation, and evaluation of processes and technologies than can bridge the gap between schools and their communities as well as to enhance learning and the learning experience. His research and interest in the area of interaction design, on the other hand, ranges from improving our experience in interacting with digital surfaces, spaces and the IoT to rethinking the design of, and interaction patterns with, online platforms and services.

Charlotte Robinson is a lecturer at University of Sussex. Her research focuses on Animal-Computer Interaction.

CHI 2018 Workshop Organisers

Oussama Metatla (see above)

Marcos Serrano is assistant professor at the IRIT Lab, University of Toulouse, France. His research is dedicated to designing novel interaction techniques in the field of mobile and ubiquitous computing. His most recent work include map exploration techniques for visually impaired users.

Christophe Jouffrais is a senior CNRS researcher at IRIT, Toulouse, France, with a background in Cognitive Science. His current research focuses on Interactive Technologies for visually impaired people and specialized teachers, with an emphasis on spatial cognition.

Anja Thieme is a postdoctoral researcher in the Human Experience & Design (HXD) group at Microsoft Research Cambridge. Her research encompasses empathic and socially inclusive approaches to the design and study of digital technology for, and with, people with visual impairments. She has previously been involved in the organisation of seven workshops at CHI, CSCW & DIS

Shaun Kane is an assistant professor in the Department of Computer Science at the University of Colorado Boulder. His research explores accessible input and interaction methods, with a focus on touch interaction and tangible computing.

Stacy Branham is a Lecturer and researcher at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC). Her research explores the social dimensions of assistive technology (AT) design for people with disabilities, specifically how to create AT that promotes “interdependence” towards deep social integration and mixed-ability engagement.

Émeline Brulé (see above)

Cynthia Bennett is a PhD candidate in the department of Human Centered Design and Engineering (HCDE) at the University of Washington. Her dissertation work focuses on increasing the accessibility of design processes. She has been involved in several accessibility projects ranging from designing and testing smartphone apps meant to increase information access for people with vision impairments to bringing disability studies in conversation with HCI to think critically about and open up ways HCI researchers can orient to disability and accessibility.

CHI 2018 Program Committee

We are grateful to following Program Committee members who will support our workshop by helping to review submissions and shape the workshop program:

    • Laura Benton, University College London, UK
    • Anke Brock, ENAC Toulouse, France
    • Pierre Dillenbourg, EPFL, Switzerland
    • Emilie Giles, Open University, UK
    • Tiago Guerreiro, University of Lisbon
    • Alex Hadwen-Bennett, Kings College London, UK
    • Jonathan Lazar, Towson University, USA
    • Charlotte Magnusson, Lund University, Sweden
    • Marianna Obrist, University of Sussex, UK
    • Dianne T.V. Pawluk, Virgina Commonwealth University, Canada
    • Michael Proulx, University of Bath, UK
      • Sue Sentence, King’s College London, UK
      • Danae Stanton Fraser, University of Bath, UK
    • Tony Stockman, Queen Mary University, UK
    • Janet van der Linden, Open University, UK